1 For All First Amendment Challenge

1 For All First Amendment Challenge winners announced

Teachers from across the country took the First Amendment Challenge, and 1 For All has awarded $1,000 to 40 of them for their outstanding lesson plans and student projects. The teachers’ innovative efforts helped educate hundreds of students about the five freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment.

“It’s been so gratifying to see centuries-old freedoms be taught in new and creative ways,” said Ken Paulson, founder of 1 For All and dean of the College of Mass Communication at Middle Tennessee State University. “Freedom is what fuels our democracy, yet we take it for granted. We’re pleased to honor the teachers who engage a new generation with thought-provoking lessons in liberty.”

The Challenge, administered by the American Society of News Editors, aimed to promote the teaching of First Amendment freedoms in secondary schools and honor teachers for their innovative efforts. To learn about the First Amendment, students completed creative and educational projects, including videos, posters, newspaper articles, editorials, raps, artwork and presentations, and some students even worked to support legislation that protects student press rights.

“All our entrants deserve acknowledgement of the fine work they are doing in their classrooms to ensure that all our students understand the freedoms that they have and how to exercise them,” said Teri Hayt, executive director of ASNE. “The First Amendment is first for a reason. Our founding fathers’ belief that everyone has the right to enjoy religious freedom, to speak freely, to report about their world, to peaceably protest and to petition the government was an essential building block for a democratic society.”

The Challenge was funded by a generous grant from the Robert R. McCormick Foundation and administered by the American Society of News Editors’ Youth Journalism Initiative. The Journalism Education Association endorsed the Challenge.

1 for All is a national nonpartisan program designed to build understanding and support for the First Amendment freedoms of religion, speech, press, assembly and petition. 1 for All provides teaching materials and lesson plans at 1forall.us to help everyone learn more about their First Amendment rights. Follow 1 for All on Twitter @1forallus.

ASNE’s Youth Journalism Initiative, launched in 2000, is committed to helping students learn why news matters and acquire the skills needed to succeed as 21st-century citizens. The Initiative invests in the future of journalism and democracy by providing resources and training in youth journalism; news, information and media literacy; and the First Amendment and civic education. Learn more at SchoolJournalism.org, or follow the Youth Journalism Initiative on Twitter@YouthJournalism.

The American Society of News Editors focuses on leadership development and journalism-related issues. Founded in 1922 as a nonprofit professional organization, ASNE promotes fair, principled journalism; defends and protects First Amendment rights; and fights for freedom of information and open government. Leadership, innovation, diversity and inclusion in coverage and the journalism workforce, youth journalism, news literacy and the sharing of ideas are also key ASNE initiatives. Learn more at asne.org, or follow ASNE on Twitter @NewsEditors.

1 For All First Amendment Challenge winners

Sara Badalamente, Grand Ledge High School, Grand Ledge, Michigan
Michelle Balmeo, Monta Vista High School, Cupertino, California
Candace Brandt, Providence High School, Charlotte, North Carolina
April Catuogno, Emerson Junior-Senior High School, Emerson, New Jersey
Serge Danielson-Francois, Divine Child High School, Dearborn, Michigan
Annette Deming, Don Antonio Lugo High School, Chino, California
Kristen DiGiorgio, Bradley Bourbonnais Community High School, Bradley, Illinois
Victoria Eby, Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin School, Chardon, Ohio
Mitch Eden, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood, Missouri
Carrie Faust, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, Colorado
Mark Ford, Casco Bay High School, Portland, Maine
Deborah Garner, Central High School, Springfield, Missouri
Elizabeth Granger, Lawrence Central High School, Indianapolis, Indiana
Lauren Gutierrez, Ray D. Corbett Junior High School, Schertz, Texas
Steve Hanf, R.J. Reynolds High School, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Heather Jancoski, South Mountain High School, Phoenix, Arizona
Shelley Job, Hanover-Horton High School, Horton, Michigan
Lori Keekley, St. Louis Park High School, St. Louis Park, Minnesota
Jennifer Kim, San Gabriel High School, San Gabriel, California
Jordyn Klackner, Francis Howell North High School, St. Charles, Missouri
Shannon Kuehmichel, Berlin High School, Berlin, Wisconsin
Kimberly McCarthy, Mother of Divine Grace School, Ojai, California
Jeremy Murphy, West Fargo High School, West Fargo, North Dakota
Sarah Noah, Goshen High School, Goshen, Indiana
Peter Paccone, San Marino High School, San Marino, California
Kim Pekala, Coral Springs Charter School, Coral Springs, Florida
Jo Phillips, Ripley High School, Ripley, West Virginia
Nicholas Popadich, Grand Blanc High School, Grand Blanc, Michigan
Margaret Robertson, St. George’s Independent School, Collierville, Tennessee
Rosa Rodriguez, Sunset High School, Dallas, Texas
Kelly Savio, Dos Pueblos High School, Goleta, California
Sarah Segal, Hood River Middle School, Hood River, Oregon
Brandie Simmons, Roncalli Catholic High School, Omaha, Nebraska
Sue Skalicky, Century High School, Bismarck, North Dakota
Stacey Stamps, Trinity Academy, Wichita, Kansas
Kymberli Wregglesworth, Onaway Secondary School, Onaway, Michigan
Amelia Wright, West Morris Central High School, Chester, New Jersey
Paige Young, East Jackson Comprehensive High School, Commerce, Georgia

Teacher groups
Ryan Alpers and Ileana Straus, Abraham Lincoln High School, San Jose, California
Kym Atkins, Rebecca Gemmell and Becky Rudeen, Escondido High School, Escondido, California

Freedom Area High School, Freedom, Pennsylvania, Mission Hills High School, San Marcos, California

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s